A gun’s got to fit if you want to hit

It took me far too long, but I finally figured out one of the reasons I can’t seem to get better at the trap range. There may be other problems, like a total lack of natural ability, but I can’t do much about that. I could do something about how my shotgun fit me, though, and on today’s show, I’ll tell you how I figured it out and what I did about it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A gun’s got to fit if you want to hit

  1. Sue Tabor says:

    Great read! I talk often to women about the importance of proper fit when it comes to shooting, whether shotgun, rifle, or handgun. It needs to fit like a great pair of shoes, or in a woman’s case, that certain article of lingerie we are all “required” to wear every day. If it doesn’t fit, you won’t wear it, and it takes up space in your closet. I also encourage women to shop around when it comes to purchasing a firearm. Don’t just buy what they need to sell. I prefer the small family owned firearms FFL retailers for this reason. No corporate office telling them what they need to get rid of. They try harder to please their customers. Women make great references for sending other new customers their way! Thanks for a great article!

    • Great post, Sue! Great advice. I appreciate your comments, a will anyone who wisely takes them to heart.

      • Sue Tabor says:

        I see so many women show up for my beginning pheasant hunts and trap shooting classes, with their husbands shotguns! What were those husbands thinking? Even women who are a lot bigger than I am (I am 5’1″ and 126 lbs.) generally have shorter arms and smaller hands than their spouse! This is why I encourage my customers to borrow one of my shotguns we have for the program. They are youth models and usually are a better fit, and lighter weight. This leads to successful target hits, which leads to a woman getting hooked on shooting targets, which leads to a firearm sale! You hit a nerve in me! Thanks for talking/writing about it!

  2. Sue Tabor says:

    I’m not sure why I didn’t get a visual, but I was able to hear your show.

Leave a Reply

